Skip to Main Content
Menu
Contact Us Search
Organization Title

Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA) - Licensing Handbook

BREA Background

In 1989, Title XI of the federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act (FIRREA) was enacted by Congress, mandating all states to license real estate appraisers who appraise real property in federally related transactions.

In response to the federal mandate, the Real Estate Appraisers' Licensing and Certification law was passed by the California Legislature in 1990 (AB 527, Chapter 491 of 1990). The law charged the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA) with licensing real estate appraisers in the State of California and enforcing national ethical and professional standards and qualifications that comply with the mandate.

Effective January 1, 2010, California law (Chapter 173, Statutes of 2009) required the registration of Appraisal Management Companies (AMC) with the BREA. This handbook details the procedures for appraiser licensing only and not for AMC registration. Please refer to the BREA website for AMC laws, regulations, registration forms, and instructions.

Mission

Safeguard public trust by promoting professionalism in the real estate appraisal industry through licensing, education, and enforcement.

Program Components

BREA consists of two primary functions, appraiser Licensing/AMC registration and Enforcement.

The Licensing Unit ensures that applicants for appraisal licenses meet minimum requirements for education, experience, and examination that comply with federal mandates and ensure that only qualified persons are licensed to conduct appraisals in federally related real estate loan transactions.

The Enforcement Unit investigates complaints of violations of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) and ensures that licensees adhere to all applicable laws and regulations.

Purpose of the Licensing Handbook

This handbook was revised in 2013. It is designed to assist applicants for licensure. You should use it in conjunction with instructions and requirements listed on the application forms. BREA has made every effort to ensure that the information is current and accurate as of July 1, 2013; however, as with any program, changes may occur and subsequent legislation may cause some of the information it contains to become out-of-date. The reader should consult current statutes, regulations and rules, which prevail over any information contained in this handbook.


Summary of Each License Level

There are four levels of real estate appraiser licensing:


BREA License Levels Education Requirements Experience Requirements Scope of Practice
Trainee (AT) 150 hours, covering specific modules including the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB). None Any property which the supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.
Residential (AL) 150 hours, covering specific modules including the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent as determined by the AQB). 2,000 hours and encompassing no less than 12 months of acceptable appraisal experience. Any non-complex 1-4 family property with a transaction value up to $1 million; and non-residential property with a transaction value up to $250,000.
Certified Residential (AR) 200 hours, covering specific modules, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course; and an Associate Degree. In lieu of a degree, 21 semester credits in specific subject matters may be substituted. 2,500 hours and encompassing no less than 2.5 years (30 months) of acceptable appraisal experience. Any 1-4 family property without regard to transaction value or complexity; and non-residential property with a transaction value up to $250,000.
Certified General (AG) 300 hours, covering specific modules, including the 15-hour National USPAP Course; and a Bachelors Degree. In lieu of a degree, 30 semester credits in specific subject matters may be substituted. 3,000 hours and encompassing no less than 2.5 years (30 months) of acceptable appraisal experience, of which 1,500 hours must be non-residential. All real estate without regard to transaction value or complexity.

CHANGES EFFECTIVE 2015

On December 9, 2011 the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation adopted changes to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that become effective January 1, 2015.

Education Changes for 2015

College education requirements are a fundamental component of these newly adopted changes. Applicants for a Residential license will be required to have a minimum of 30 college semester units, whereas applicants for either a Certified Residential or a Certified General license will be required to have a four-year college degree (see table below).

These requirements are effective for individuals seeking a real property appraiser credential after January 1, 2015. The requirements will also apply to existing real property appraisers seeking to upgrade a license. Appraisers wishing to upgrade their license will have to meet these new minimum criteria.

If you will be seeking an initial license and have not yet begun to compile the experience component for a Certified Residential or Certified General application, you MUST comply with the 2015 minimum criteria because experience must be completed over a period of no less than 30 months.

All initial and upgrade applicants wishing to qualify under the existing 2008 AQB minimum criteria must submit a complete application which includes: the required education, experience and successful examination results by December 31, 2014. Applicants are STRONGLY advised to submit complete applications for the desired license level as soon as possible and no later than October 1, 2014 if they wish to qualify under the existing 2008 AQB minimum criteria. If an application has not been submitted with all required education, experience and successful examination results prior to January 1, 2015, the applicant MUST comply with the 2015 AQB minimum criteria.

For example: If the application, education and Log of Appraisal Experience documenting the required experience has been submitted but the applicant has not hand delivered by, or mailed the passing examination results with a postmark, no later than December 31, 2014 the applicant will have to comply with the 2015 AQB minimum criteria.

ALL APPLICANTS ARE ADVISED TO UNDERSTAND THE NEW MINIMUM APPRAISER QUALIFICATION CRITERIA. (See link above.)

COLLEGE LEVEL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT CHANGES
CLASSIFICATION CURRENT REQUIREMENTS JANUARY 1, 2015 REQUIREMENTS
Trainee Appraiser (AT) None None
Licensed Residential Appraiser (AL) None 30 semester credit hours of college-level education from an accredited college, junior college, community college or university OR an Associate's degree or higher (in any field).
Certified Residential Appraiser (AR) 21 semester credit hours in specified collegiate subject matter courses from an accredited college or university OR an Associate's degree or higher. Bachelor's degree or higher (in any field) from an accredited college or university.
Certified General Appraiser (AG) 30 semester credit hours in specific collegiate subject matter courses from an accredited college or university OR a Bachelor's degree or higher. Bachelor's degree or higher (in any field) from an accredited college or university.

Supervisory and Trainee Changes for 2015**

**We highly recommend both Supervisory Appraiser and Trainee/Applicant search appraisal course providers for classes regarding the roles and responsibilities of the Supervisor and Trainee NOW! These classes can be used for continuing education credit.

APPLICATION PROCEDURES

BREA processes five types of applications. They are:

The basic procedures for real estate appraiser licensing are:

• Submission of application, including all of the following:

  1. Application and background review fees
  2. Education
  3. Experience
  4. Information for criminal records check
  5. Proof of legal presence in the United States

• Examination process (Initial and Upgrade only):

  1. Admission to Examination Letter sent after BREA approves application
  2. Scheduling of the examination by applicant
  3. Payment of examination fee by applicant (paid directly to exam provider)

• Submission of license issuance request, including all of the following:

  1. Application for Issuance of a License (REA 3008)
  2. Original examination score results showing successful completion
  3. Work samples that BREA requested for review
  4. Delinquent court-ordered child support review

State and federal laws provide that applicants must meet minimum education and experience requirements and must pass an examination prior to being licensed to perform real estate appraisals in federally related transactions. Education requirements include appropriate knowledge of the English language including reading, writing, spelling, and knowledge of arithmetic computations common to real estate and appraisal practices.

California law requires every applicant for a real estate appraiser license to provide facts that establish his or her true identity, character, and competence.

Every fact requested in the application is necessary and required to determine eligibility for licensure. An applicant must disclose the requested information, including any criminal convictions, on the application. Failure or refusal to provide any fact or information requested in the application may result in the application being rejected as incomplete or may subject the applicant to sanctions including, but not limited to, the denial of an application.

Exam

All applicants have one year to qualify for the exam from the date the application was received. BREA cannot extend the application received date.

Minimum Age

Licensees must be at least 18 years of age.

Payment of Fees

Application fees must be paid by credit card, preprinted personal or company check, certified check, cashier's check or money order.

Initial Application

This section applies to applicants who are applying for the first time, or for individuals previously licensed who are no longer eligible to renew. Applicants may apply at any level of licensure for which they meet the requirements.

To apply for an initial license, applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on BREA website):

*BREA processes applicant fingerprints via Live Scan for California residents. If you are applying for a California license but reside out of state, you need to submit your fingerprints on two (2) FD-258 fingerprint cards with your application.

Once an application is approved, BREA will issue a letter informing you of eligibility to take your exam along with your Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) identification number that is required to schedule your exam. Upon successful completion of the exam, applicants then submit all of the following:

The expiration date of an appraiser license is normally two years from the date of issuance.

Renewal Process

This section applies to licensees who are applying for renewal of their license.

The term of a California real estate appraiser license is two years. Although proof of completion of the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course is required every two years and must be submitted with each renewal application, proof of completion of the 4-hour course entitled Federal and State Laws and Regulations and remaining continuing education is required once every four years (see Continuing Education Requirements on page 12). Therefore, there are two different types of renewal applications as indicated below.

On-Line Renewals

You can submit most renewals on-line. The existing license must be current and in good standing. Renewal may not occur more than six months prior to the existing license expiration date. On-line renewal is not available for those who live out of state or those whose license has been suspended, resigned, revoked, or have had their right to renew revoked. Those who are subject to Enforcement monitoring are also ineligible to use the on-line renewal. Go to Online Renewal Application

"USPAP Only" Renewal Application

To apply for renewal of a license after the first two years of the continuing education cycle, applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the BREA website):

The following additional items may also be required:

Once the application is approved, BREA will issue a new certificate. The expiration date of a license is normally two years from the date of issuance.

Full Continuing Education Renewal Application

To apply for renewal of a license at the end of the continuing education cycle (on time every four years), applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the BREA website):

The following additional items may be required:

Once the application is approved, BREA will issue a new certificate. The expiration date of a license is normally two years from the date of issuance.

 


Late Renewals

Licensees may renew a license within two years of the license expiration. However, licenses renewed during the two-year grace period are considered late and are subject to additional fees and education requirements. Late renewal licensees must pay late renewal fees and submit proof of completion of seven additional hours of continuing education for each six-month period the application is received after the expiration of the continuing education cycle.

Applications are considered late if they are postmarked after the expiration date of the license or if any of the required continuing education is completed after the expiration date of the license.

NOTE: Appraisers whose licenses have expired cannot legally perform appraisals in federally related transactions until the license is renewed.

 

Upgrade Application

This section describes the process for applying to upgrade a current California license to a higher level.

NOTE: You cannot upgrade an expired license.

The expiration date of an upgraded license will remain the same as the expiration date of the current license. Therefore, upgrading a license does not extend its expiration date.

To upgrade a license to a higher level, appraisers must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the BREA website):

NOTE: Exam results are only valid for one (1) year. If your exam results are more than one (1) year old, you will need to re-exam.

 

Initial Out-of-State (Reciprocal) Licensees

Applicants who have a current valid license in another state and who wish to apply for a California license may apply by using the Initial Out-of-State Application process. However the out-of-state applicant is not required to take the California examination if:

To apply for an Out-State-License, applicants must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the BREA website):

Additional Out-of-State Requirements

 

Temporary Practice Permit

Appraisers who hold a valid license in good standing in another state may apply for a Temporary Practice Permit to perform real property appraisal assignments in California.

The following are general guidelines regarding Temporary Practice Permits:

A Temporary Practice Permit is not required if:

To receive a Temporary Practice Permit, licensed out-of-state appraisers must complete and submit all of the following (see list of forms on the BREA website):

 

For questions or clarification call (916) 552-9000.

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

There are two types of education used to meet licensing requirements:

NOTE: You can use basic education courses to meet qualifying or renewal continuing education requirements.

Basic Education Requirements

All applicants must meet the basic education requirements before they can qualify for licensure.

Minimum Basic Education Requirements

To qualify for an appraiser license, applicants will have to complete a core curriculum for each license level as documented in Appendix A. Applicants must complete a minimum number of acceptable hours and specific modules (see Basic Education Modules in Appendix B) as required by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB).

All applicants must successfully complete a 15-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course or its equivalent as determined by the AQB.

The required number of basic education hours for each licensing level is as follows:

LICENSE LEVEL BASIC EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
Trainee (AT) 150 hours, including a 15-Hour National USPAP Course.
NOTE: Course work for the Trainee level license taken more than 5 years prior to the application date is not acceptable.
Residential (AL) 150 hours, including a 15-Hour National USPAP Course.
Certified Residential (AR)

200 hours, including a 15-Hour National USPAP Course and an Associate's Degree from a Regionally or Nationally Accredited College.*
Certified General (AG) 300 hours, including a 15-Hour National USPAP Course and a Bachelor's Degree from a Regionally or Nationally Accredited College.*

*An Applicant can complete the following semester credits in lieu of the required degree (see Handbook section above regarding 2015 changes):

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL CERTIFIED GENERAL
In Lieu of: Associate's Degree

Bachelor's Degree
Applicant Can Complete: 21 college semester credits 30 college semester credits
English Composition 3 Units 3 Units
Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro) 3 Units
Finance 3 Units 3 Units
Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics 3 Units 3 Units
Statistics 3 Units 3 Units
Introduction to Computers 3 Units 3 Units
Business Law or Real Estate Law 3 Units 3 Units
Micro Economics 3 Units
Macro Economics 3 Units
2 Elective Courses in: Accounting, Geography, Ag-economics, Business Management or Real Estate 3 Units Each

 

Basic Education Requirements to Upgrade a License

The following education is required to upgrade a license to a higher classification (see Handbook section above regarding 2015 changes).

Trainee Licensees Upgrading to: Residential Licensees Upgrading to: Certified Residential Licensees Upgrading to:
Residential License Certified Residential License Certified General License Certified Residential License Certified General License Certified General
License
Evidence of a Degree from a regionally or nationally accredited college or university required: Associate's Degree * Bachelor's Degree * Associate's Degree * Bachelor's Degree * Bachelor's Degree *
Additional hours of acceptable education required:

 

Must include at a minimum the following modules:
75 hours

125 hours

225 hours 50 hours 150 hours 100 hours
Residential Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 15 hours 15 hours
Residential Appraisal Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours

15 hours

Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 30 hours 30 hours
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 15 hours 15 hours
Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 15 hours 15 hours 15 hours
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours 15 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours 20 hours
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest & Best Use 30 hours 15 hours 15 hours
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 30 hours 15 hours 15 hours
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 30 hours 15 hours 15 hours
General Appraiser Income Approach 30 hours 45 hours 45 hours
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 30 hours 15 hours 10 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 30 hours 30 hours

*An Applicant can complete the following semester credits in lieu of the required degree (see Handbook section above for 2015 changes):

Trainee or Residential Licensee Upgrading to Certified Residential License: Trainee, Residential or Certified Residential Licensee Upgrading to Certified General License:
In lieu of: Associate's Degree Bachelor's Degree
Applicant can complete: 21 college semester credits 30 college semester credits
In courses covering the following specific subject matters:
English Composition 3 Units 3 Units
Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro) 3 Units
Finance 3 Units 3 Units
Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics 3 Units 3 Units
Statistics 3 Units 3 Units
Introduction to Computers 3 Units 3 Units
Business Law or Real Estate Law 3 Units 3 Units
Micro Economics 3 Units
Macro Economics 3 Units
2 Elective Courses in: Accounting, Geography, Ag-economics, Business Management or Real Estate 3 Units Each

 

BREA Course Approval

Basic education courses, both classroom and online, must meet AQB requirements. The requirements for approval of basic education courses are:

NOTE: Credit is only given for the portion or portions of the class that covers required modules.

Example: An approved course is 50 hours in length but only 30 hours of the course covers the module Real Estate Appraisal Principles. The remaining 20 hours do not cover any of the required modules. Therefore, the applicant can only receive credit for 30 of the 50 course hours.

Examination Preparation Courses

Examination preparation courses (i.e., courses designed solely to prepare a person to pass the licensing examination) do not meet the basic education requirements.

Online Education Courses

The AQB does not permit BREA to accept online education for basic education unless the courses are approved by BREA and meet all of the following requirements:

Continuing Education Requirements

All licensed appraisers must meet continuing education requirements before they may renew their license.

The current term of a California real estate appraiser license is two years. Although proof of completion of the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course is required every two years and must be submitted with each renewal application, proof of completion of a four hour BREA approved course covering Federal and State Laws and Regulations and remaining continuing education courses are required every four years. Applicants for license renewal must complete a total of 56 hours of continuing education during the four year cycle. The cycle starts with the issuance date of the current license.

NOTE: Examination hours cannot be used toward continuing education hours.

Minimum Continuing Education Requirements

Continuing education requirements for a real estate appraiser include both of the following:

Although all licensees must complete an average of 14 hours for each calendar year, you are not required to complete continuing education in each specific year.

Required topics for all licenses:

Additional Education Requirements for Late Renewals

Licensees may renew a license within two years of the license expiration; however, licenses renewed during the two-year grace period are considered late and are subject to additional fees and education requirements. Late renewal licensees must pay late renewal fees and submit proof of completion of seven additional hours of continuing education for each six-month period the application is received after the expiration of the continuing education cycle.

Applications are considered late if they are postmarked after the expiration date of the license or if any of the required continuing education is completed after the expiration date of the license.

NOTE: Appraisers whose licenses have expired cannot legally perform appraisals in federally related transactions until the license is renewed.

BREA Course Approval

Continuing education courses, both classroom and online, must meet the requirements of the AQB. The requirements for BREA approval of continuing education courses are:

BREA Approved Courses

Continuing education courses that BREA has already approved allow for faster processing of renewal applications. Courses offered by providers that are private vocational schools or professional organizations are assigned a BREA course approval number. In addition, some college and university courses may be acceptable if the courses cover one of the topics listed below.

The AQB allows, and BREA may grant, continuing education credit for courses that cover topics including but not limited to:

Equivalent Activities

Appraisers may receive up to one half of their continuing education credit for teaching appraisal courses, developing appraisal education programs and writing articles that are published in legitimate appraisal journals.

Online Education Courses

The AQB does not permit BREA to accept online education courses unless they are approved by BREA and meet all of the following requirements:

Course Completion Certificates

Course providers must provide course completion certificates to those who successfully complete the course. Licensees must not send completion certificates to BREA until it is time to renew their licenses. Licensees must retain their completion certificates and attach them (photocopies are acceptable) to their application for renewal of their license.


Acceptable Types of Courses

Courses Accredited by BREA

Basic and continuing education courses that are accredited by BREA have a BREA approval number. They include courses from professional organizations and vocational schools. Applicants can verify approved schools and individual courses by visiting the BREA website (www.orea.ca.gov) and/or by calling BREA at (916) 552-9000.

Courses Requiring a Petition for Equivalency

Courses that have not been approved by BREA may still be considered acceptable if they meet the minimum qualification requirements of the AQB. For example, applicants may petition for basic or continuing education credit for courses taken from vocational schools or professional organizations which are no longer in business, and courses that are no longer offered. Petitioned courses must meet all of the same requirements as courses that BREA has approved. For instance, online education that is petitioned must be approved by the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) in order for the petition to be accepted.

Applicants must submit a Petition for Equivalency Credit (REA 3005), all required attachments, and the required fee for each course. BREA will review the petitions to determine the acceptability of each course.

You must also submit a timed course outline and BREA Topic Matrix Addendum for each course as part of the review process for qualifying education.

Accredited Colleges and Universities

College and university courses that have not been approved by BREA may be considered acceptable if they meet the minimum qualification requirement of the AQB. Applicants must submit a Petition for Equivalency Credit (REA 3005) and all required attachments for each course. For qualifying education a BREA Topic Matrix Addendum must be submitted for each course as part of the review process along with a timed course outline or syllabus with sufficient detail to enable BREA to determine the specific subtopics and number of hours covered by the course.

Instructing Appraisal Courses

BREA may award up to one half of continuing education credit, not to exceed 28 hours, to instructors of real estate appraisal courses. To request such credit, the instructor must submit written verification from the department dean or other appropriate school official that includes all of the following:

If a course is not BREA approved, the instructor must submit a Petition for Equivalency Credit (REA 3005) with all appropriate fees.

Course Credit Requirements

To receive credit for a course, an applicant must submit a course completion certificate, a college transcript from the school, an official school grade slip or other documentation acceptable to BREA for proof of course completion. The documentation must be submitted with the application and must include all of the following information:

In addition:

Determining Hours of Credit for College Courses

To determine the maximum number of hours of education credit which BREA may grant for acceptable college level courses, multiply the number of semester or quarter units of credit awarded by the college times the number of weeks in the semester or quarter.

Example: A three unit course taken at a school with 18 week semesters equals a maximum of 54 hours of education credit. A five unit course taken at a school with 10 week quarters equals a maximum of 50 hours of education credit. The hours spent taking the final examination for a course are already included in these hours and are not added in separately.

Foreign Education

Transcripts showing education or a degree earned outside the United States require translation and/or evaluation at a credentialing service. In addition to translating transcripts from colleges outside the United States, the credentialing service can determine if a degree is equivalent to an AA degree or a BA degree earned from an accredited college in the United States. A credentialing service is also used to determine if a specific course is equivalent to the same course taken at an accredited college in the United States.

If a credentialing service is used to determine if a degree is equivalent to a degree earned in the United States, the Applicant must submit documentation from a credentialing service indicating that the college is accredited and the degree is equivalent to a degree earned from an accredited college in the United States.

If a credentialing service is used to determine if a specific course is equivalent to a course taken from an accredited college in the United States, the Applicant must submit documentation from a credentialing service that the college is accredited, the course is equivalent to a specific course taken at an accredited college in the United States, and the number of semester units the course is equivalent to in the United States.

WORK EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS

BREA may grant credit toward meeting the minimum appraisal work experience requirements in the categories shown below. Acceptable experience must, at a minimum, meet the criteria listed after each category shown below and in all cases MUST comply with USPAP.

NOTE: The Applicant must have performed claimed work experience for a business purpose (mock appraisal experience is ineligible). The Applicant may also gain work experience through case studies and practicum courses that are approved by the AQB Course Approval Program. However, case studies and practicum courses cannot be credited for more than 50% of the total experience requirement.

Restricted Appraisal Reports and Restricted Use Appraisal Reports are not eligible for experience credit. To be acceptable for experience credit the applicant must be either:

State law requires that the Applicant make documentation of work experience available to BREA upon request. Work samples are one such form of documentation. Each work sample must be an exact, non-redacted copy of the completed appraisal report(s) submitted to the client(s) for a business purpose.

Categories of Experience

Category 1. Fee and Staff Appraisal

A real property appraisal prepared for a business purpose shall:

NOTE: Category 1 experience requires applicants to have effectively completed 100% of the appraisal process (under the guidance of a supervisory appraiser, if applicable).

Category 2. Ad Valorem Tax Appraisal - Non-California tax appraisal experience only. See Category 9 for California tax appraisal experience.

A real property appraisal prepared by an appraiser to estimate a value that is used for property tax purposes:

Appraisal

Experience in this category shall:

Mass Appraisal

Experience in this category shall:

NOTE: Other components of the mass appraisal process, by themselves, are not eligible for experience credit.

This category is limited to appraisals performed as an employee or agent of a County Assessor's office in another state, or the other state's equivalent of the California Board of Equalization.

Effective January 1, 2005, verification of work experience by affidavit is no longer acceptable. All applicants for Category 2 experience must document their work experience on the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004) and the Experience Log Summary (REA 3003) forms. Reports listed on the Log of Appraisal Experience must be available for release to the BREA for verification of work experience.

Category 3. Review Appraisal

A Field or Desk Review

Experience in this category shall:

Category 4. Appraisal Analysis - (Is not acceptable for reports completed after January 1, 2014.)

Experience in this category shall:

Category 5. Real Estate Consulting - (Is not acceptable for reports completed after January 1, 2014.)

Experience in this category shall:

NOTE: "Real Estate Consulting" does not include consulting done by a real estate broker or real estate salesperson to help a client determine list price or how much they should offer in purchasing property.

Category 6. Highest and Best Use Analysis - (Is not acceptable for reports completed after January 1, 2014.)

Experience in this category shall:

Category 7. Feasibility Analysis and Study - (Is not acceptable for reports completed after January 1, 2014.)

Experience in this category shall:

Category 8. Teaching of Appraisal Courses - No longer eligible for experience credit.

Category 9. Setting Forth Opinions of Value of Real Property for Tax Purposes - This category is limited to appraisals performed as an employee or agent of a County Assessor's Office or of the California State Board of Equalization.

Experience as an employee of a California County Assessor's Office or the California Board of Equalization in setting forth opinions of value of real property for tax purposes may be counted towards work experience.

Appraisal experience in this category shall:

Mass Appraisal

Experience in this category shall:

NOTE: Other components of the mass appraisal process, by themselves, are not eligible for experience credit.

Effective January 1, 2005, verification of work experience by affidavit is no longer acceptable. All applicants for Category 9 experience must document their work experience on the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004) and Experience Log Summary (REA 3003) forms. Reports listed on the Log of Appraisal Experience must be available for release to the BREA for verification of work experience.

Category 10. Assisting in the Preparation of Appraisals

Experience in this category shall:

NOTE: Category 10 experience requires applicants to have effectively completed at least 75% of the appraisal process under the guidance of a supervisory appraiser. The work experience must go beyond such tasks as taking photographs, typing the report, or other non-analytical duties. Applicants must be identified by name (and BREA license number, if licensed) with the extent of the real property appraisal assistance clearly and conspicuously described in the report.

Category 11. Real Estate Valuation Experience as a Real Estate Lending Officer or Real Estate Broker

Appraisal - Same requirements as Category 1.

Review of Appraisals - Same requirements as Category 3.

Practicum Courses

Effective January 1, 2008, applicants may gain up to 50% of the experience requirements through case studies and practicum courses that are approved by the AQB Course Approval Program.

Since BREA does not approve case studies and practicum courses, you must obtain information for this program from the AQB.

Documenting Experience

Applicants for a Residential License, Certified Residential License or Certified General License must document their experience on the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004) and the Experience Log Summary (REA 3003) and shall include all of the following:

Work Samples

BREA will select and review work samples from the Log of Appraisal Experience (REA 3004) to verify applicants have met the experience requirement. Each work sample requested by BREA must be an exact, non-redacted copy of the report delivered to the client, and in full conformance with USPAP requirements. If any of the work samples are found not to conform to any portion of USPAP, BREA may reject the experience claimed and deny the application. BREA reserves the right to require the submission of additional samples and/or complete work files.

Unacceptable Appraisal Reports

Appraisal reports that do not comply with USPAP and/or Restricted Appraisal Report and Restricted Use Appraisal Reports are not eligible for experience credit.

Earning Acceptable Experience as a Trainee

General

To earn acceptable hours of experience, a Trainee licensee must work under the direct technical supervision of a Certified Residential or Certified General licensed appraiser in good standing. The supervisor must be licensed at the appropriate level for the type of property being appraised. "Technical supervision" does not mean that the Trainee is required to be an employee of the supervising appraiser, but must receive direct supervision in the duties performed as an appraiser. In addition, a Trainee may work for more than one supervisor. The Trainee must either:

NOTE: A maximum of 400 hours of Category 10 experience may be credited toward meeting the minimum experience requirements.

In addition, work experience and the appraisal report must fully conform to both the requirements of USPAP and Title 10, Chapter 6.5, California Code of Regulations (commencing with Section 3500).

Trainee's Duties

Trainees must:

Supervisor's Duties

The supervising appraiser must do all of the following:

NOTE: Supervising appraisers must be licensed at the Certified Residential or Certified General Level and have no more than three trainees under their supervision.

Obtaining Experience Without a License

An individual who is unlicensed may obtain appraisal experience in any of the following ways:

  1. By providing "significant real property appraisal assistance" to a licensed appraiser and properly identifying the assistance in the appraisal report. If unlicensed individuals perform at least 75% of the professional appraisal work and the appraisal conforms to USPAP, the experience can qualify under Category 10 (Assistance in the Preparation of Appraisals), up to a maximum of 400 hours.
  2. By performing the entire appraisal process under the direct technical supervision of a Certified Residential or Certified General licensed appraiser in good standing. The final conclusion to value is made by and the appraisal is signed by the supervising appraiser, with the unlicensed individual identified by name with the extent of the real property appraisal assistance clearly and conspicuously described in the report. If the unlicensed individual performs all appraisal methods customarily used for the assignment and the appraisal conforms to USPAP, the experience can qualify under Category 1 (Fee and Staff Appraisal).
  3. By performing appraisals in non-federally related transactions. If the appraisals were performed for a business purpose and conform to USPAP, the experience can qualify under Category 1.

NOTE: Individuals unlicensed in California may not sign appraisals in federally related transactions, even if co-signed by a licensed California appraiser.

EXAMINATION AND LICENSE ISSUANCE

Applicants must successfully complete the examination for the license level for which they have applied. After BREA reviews and makes a preliminary determination that an applicant has met the minimum requirements, BREA will send the applicant a letter informing them that they are eligible to take the exam. The letter will have AMP's contact information, the applicant's identification number and the selected work samples for review that the applicant needs to submit after successfully passing the exam.

Payment of Examination Fees

Applicants pay examination fees directly to the exam provider.

Scheduling the Examination

Applicants who receive a letter should verify that the examination level indicated on the letter conforms to the license level for which they applied. Applicants may then call the test administrator to schedule an examination date and choose a testing center. Applicants who require special accommodations in order to test must inform the test administrator when making the appointment. Note that testing dates, facilities and seating are limited.

The applicant must successfully complete the examination within five attempts and no later than one year from the date they became eligible according to AMP records. Since reservations are subject to space availability, applicants should reserve space as early as possible. Failure to successfully complete the examination within five attempts or prior to eligibility end date will result in expiration of the application. After five attempts and/or the eligibility end date, the applicant must reapply for licensure. This will require a new application, supporting documentation and payment of all appropriate fees in accordance with the requirements in existence at the time the new application is submitted.

NOTE: It is the responsibility of applicants to ensure that the correct examination is taken at the testing center.

Examination Results

Examinations are scored upon completion and applicants should receive their results immediately after completing the exam.

NOTE: Applicants should not leave the testing center without the original copy of the examination results containing the applicant's photograph, and the appropriate BREA form as described below.

Instructions for Applicants Who Pass the Examination

Applicants who pass the examination will receive proof of successful completion from the test provider. In order to request license issuance, applicants must forward the original examination score results sheet showing successful completion, a completed Application for Issuance of a License (REA 3008), and all appropriate fees (if any still outstanding) to BREA.

NOTE: BREA must receive applications for issuance within one year from the date the examination was successfully completed. After one year, applicants who still desire to pursue licensure must reapply as indicated above.

Instruction for Applicants Who Fail the Examination

Applicants who fail the examination will need to contact AMP again to reschedule another exam.

Criminal Records Search

The California Department of Justice (DOJ) and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) will use identification and fingerprint information to assist BREA in determining if applicants have a criminal record. This information is provided to BREA as part of the application process and is automatically updated should a subsequent criminal conviction occur during the period of licensure.

Child Support Check

The Department of Child Support Services provides BREA with a list of persons who are delinquent in court ordered child support payments. If an applicant's name is on this list who is otherwise qualified for licensure, BREA will issue a temporary license that is valid for 150 days. During this time the applicant must have the County Department of Child Support Services that placed the applicant on the list submit a release to BREA. BREA cannot extend the 150 day temporary license and fees submitted are non- refundable.

Proof of Legal Presence

In accordance with the Federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act of 1996, applicants for licensure or renewal are required to provide proof of legal presence in the United States. The following documents (USCIS forms) may be acceptable proof of legal presence:

  1. A copy of a birth certificate issued in or by a city, county, state, or other governmental entity within the United States or its outlying possessions.
  2. A U.S. Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545, DS-135) or a Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen (FS-240).
  3. A birth certificate or passport issued from one of the following:
    • Puerto Rico, on or after January 13, 1941
    • Guam, on or after April 10, 1989
    • U.S. Virgin Islands, on or after February 25, 1927
    • Northern Mariana Islands, after November 4, 1986
    • American Samoa
    • Swain's Island
    • District of Columbia
  4. A U.S. passport (expired or unexpired)
  5. Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-57, N-578)
  6. Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, N-645)
  7. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-179, I-197)
  8. An individual Fee Register Receipt (Form -G-711) that shows that the person has filed an application for a New Naturalization or Citizenship Paper (Form N-565)
  9. Any other document which establishes a U.S. place of birth or indicates U.S. Citizenship
Privacy Act Notice

All information required on applications is personal information within the meaning of the Information Practices Act of 1977, as amended (California Civil Code Section 1798, et seq.). The information may not be used for any purpose other than to determine an applicant's identity and eligibility for licensure. Disclosure of the information on an application to others for any other purpose without the applicant's consent or otherwise in accordance with law is restricted by law.

NOTE: The following is public information and is disclosed upon request: name, business address (or other physical address) of record, mailing address, business telephone and/or facsimile number of record, type of license, license number, issuance and expiration dates of license and final public disciplinary actions, if any.

Social Security Number

Disclosure of applicant social security numbers (SSN) is mandatory under California Business and Professions Code Sections 30 and 11340(c) and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405(c)(2)(C)). State and federal laws require that applicants provide a SSN issued by the U.S. Social Security Administration as part of the licensure process for legally authorized purposes. Failure or refusal to provide the SSN may result in an application being rejected as incomplete or subject the applicant to sanctions including, but not limited to, the denial of the application. BREA will also report the applicant to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against the applicant.

Denial of Your License Application Based on Failure to Meet Minimum Requirements

If an application is denied due to the applicant's failure to meet minimum requirements, the applicant may have certain rights to have the decision reviewed in a hearing. These rights are contained in California Government Code Section 11500 et seq. and California Business and Professions Code Section 475 et seq. and Article 13, Title 10, California Code of Regulations, Section 3741. Applicants should become familiar with these sections as failure to timely protect these rights may result in the loss of any right.

OTHER APPLICATION INFORMATION

Investigation of Offenses

Before an application is approved, BREA is required by law to verify the identity of the applicant and determine if the applicant has committed any crimes or acts which constitute grounds for denial of an application for licensure. To assist BREA with this review process, please ensure you include all of the following with your application for each offense:

NOTE: If charges were dismissed without a conviction, provide a copy of the court document evidencing dismissal of the charges.

Disclosure of Prior Conviction

Applicants must disclose to BREA any and all prior misdemeanor and felony convictions. If a conviction has been purged, the applicant must still disclose the conviction unless entitled to an exemption based upon successful completion of a diversion program, a judicial determination of factual innocence or other order of court which expressly provides for such exemption. Applicants claiming this exemption must provide BREA with a certified copy of the court order or other authority for the exemption. A Certificate of Rehabilitation (Penal Code Section 4852.01) or termination of probation and dismissal of the information or accusation (Penal Code Section 1203.4) does not exempt an applicant from disclosing a conviction when applying for a license issued by BREA.

Applicants must also disclose the following pleas or convictions:

Nolo Contendre or No Contest

Convictions when you were under the age of 18

Requirements of Substantial Relationship

BREA will review prior acts or convictions to determine whether or not they are substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of an appraiser; or if an act or crime was willful or intentional; and/or if the act or offense involved the use of fraud, deceit or dishonesty for profit or gain. The specific criteria used by BREA in making this determination are set forth in Article 12, Title 10, California Code of Regulations, Section 3722.

Evidence of Rehabilitation

Applicants are given an opportunity to explain any offense or criminal conviction. BREA may ask applicants to do this in writing and/or require participation in an office conference to provide the explanation. In addition to providing an explanation, BREA may require applicants to demonstrate proof of rehabilitation subsequent to the acts or the actions that are the basis of the conviction in accordance with the Criteria for Rehabilitation as stated in Article 12, Title 10, California Code of Regulations, Section 3723.

Records

Applicants are required to provide certified copies of the court records, including the complaint, complete docket, judgment and sentence and probation report, if any, for any convictions. Applicants are also required to provide copies of police and/or other investigating agency reports, as well as certified copies of decisions from other state or federal agencies, if applicable. Providing these documents with the application will assist BREA in processing the application as quickly as possible. If an applicant is unable to obtain these records, the applicant must provide BREA with a sworn declaration signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury stating the efforts the applicant made to obtain the records, the inability to obtain them, and the reasons why.

Denial of Applications Based on Prior Act or Convictions

If BREA determines the applicant is not qualified to receive a license due to prior acts or convictions, the applicant may have certain rights to have this decision reviewed in a hearing. These rights are stated in California Government Code Section 11500 et seq. and California Business and Professions Code Section 475 et seq., as well as California Code of Regulations, Title 10, Section 3741. Applicants should become familiar with these sections as failure to timely protect these rights may result in the loss of any right the applicant may have to a hearing.

Due Diligence

Applicants must exercise due diligence in pursuing an application for licensure. This means the applicant must respond in a timely fashion to any inquiries or requests for additional information or documents from BREA and ensure that BREA is immediately notified of any change in the applicant's personal information, such as any address or telephone number listed on the application.

Failure to exercise due diligence in pursuing an application or responding to a request from BREA may result in an application being closed or denied. Should this occur and the applicant subsequently decides to pursue licensure or application for upgrade or renewal, the applicant must submit a new application, supporting documentation, and all appropriate fees in accordance with requirements in existence at that time.

Refunds

Pursuant to state statute, all fees are deemed earned upon receipt. No refunds will be granted.

Change of Address

A licensee who has a change of personal information such as mailing, home or business address, or telephone number change, must notify BREA within 10 days of the change, in accordance with Article 2, Title 10, California code of Regulations, Section 3527. The new information must be submitted on the Change Notification and Miscellaneous Requests (REA 3011) form. In addition to the potential failure of receiving important information, failure to notify BREA of any change in such information may subject a licensee to disciplinary action, which may include a fine and/or denial or revocation of his or her license.


APPENDIX A
CORE CURRICULUM - BASIC EDUCATION MODULE AND SUBTOPICS

The following are the subtopics for each module. Not all module subtopics are required for credit toward completion of a module. The examination, however, is based on all of the subtopics. Courses may contain one module or parts of one or more modules.

Basic Education Basic Education
APPENDIX B

BASIC EDUCATION MODULE REQUIREMENTS

Minimum Hours License Level

Basic Education Modules

Trainee/
License
Certified Residential Certified General
30 Basic Appraisal Principles X X X
30 Basic Appraisal Procedures X X X
15 15-Hour National USPAP Course X X X
15 Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use X X
15 Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach X X
30 Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach X X
15 Residential Report Writing & Case Studies X X
15 Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies X
15 Statistics Modeling and Finance X X
30 General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use X
30 General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach X
30 General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach X
30 General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies X
60 General Appraiser Income Approach X
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives. May include hours over the minimum requirement in the above modules or in modules not required 20 hours 30 hours
See Appendix A for the subtopics of each module

REFERENCE GUIDE
  • The Appraisal Foundation
    1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111
    Washington, DC 20005
    Telephone: (202) 347-7722
    Fax: (202) 347-7727
    www.appraisalfoundation.org
     
  • Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB)
    1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111
    Washington, DC 20005
    Telephone: (202) 347-7722
    Fax: (202) 347-7727
    www.appraisalfoundation.org
     
  • Appraisal Standards Board
    1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111
    Washington, DC 20005
    Telephone: (202) 347-7722
    Fax: (202) 347-7727
    www.appraisalfoundation.org
     
  • Bureau of Real Estate
    1651 Exposition Blvd.
    Sacramento, California 95815
    Telephone: (916) 263-8704
    Fax: (916) 263-8943
    www.bre.ca.gov
     
  • International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC)   
    Post Office Box 230159
    Montgomery, Alabama 36123-0159
    Telephone: (334) 260-2928
    Fax: (334) 260-2903
    www.idecc.org
     
  • Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA)
    1102 Q Street, Suite 4100
    Sacramento, California 95811
    Telephone: (916) 552-9000
    Fax: (916) 552-9007
    www.orea.ca.gov