State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY
Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers ACTION

Regulatory Action:
Government Code Section 11349.3

Title 10, California Code of Regulations

Amend section: 3543 OAL Matter Number: 2016-0830-02S

OAL Matter Type: Regular (S)

In this regular rulemaking, the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers is amending section
3543 in title 10 of the California Code of Regulations. The amendments to Section 3543
will require that all applicants complete, prior to issuance of an initial or reciprocal
license, a four-hour course on federal and California appraisal-related statutory and
regulatory law. Other amendments to Section 3543 are to align this section with both
current statutory law and criteria established by the Appraiser Qualification Board of the

Appraisal Foundation.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government
Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 1/1/2017.
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BUREAU OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

ORDER OF ADOPTION

Amend Section 3543 of Article 3 of Chapter 6.5 of Title 10 of the California Code of
Regulations to read as follows:

Section 3543. Minimum Basic and Continuing Education Requirements.
(a) Minimum basic and continuing requirements shall be as follows:
(1) All courses shall meet the minimum AQB requirements;

(2) All classroom attended courses shall be taken through schools that are accredited by
either:

(A) the Bureau; or

(B) any regional or national accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department
of Education;

(3) Distance education courses are acceptable if they-were:

(A) Content approval is obtained from the AQB. a state appraiser regulatory

jurisdiction. or an accredited college. community college, or university that offers
distance education programs and is approved or accredited by the Commission on
Colleges. a regional or national accreditation association, or by an accrediting

agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education; and

(B) Course delivery mechanism approval is obtained from one of the following
sources:

1. AQB approved organizations providing approval of course design
and delivery: or

2. A college or university that qualifies for content approval in

paragraph (A) above that awards academic credit for the distance
education course: or

3. A qualifving college or university for content approval with a distance
education delivery program that approves the course design and delivery
that incorporate interactivity.




(4) All applicants must complete. prior to issuance of an initial or reciprocal license, a
four hour course on federal and California appraisal related statutory and regulatory law.

(b) In addition to (a) above, continuing education requirements shall be as follows:

(1) Continuing education requirements shall be completed after the date on which the

previous license was issued;

(2) Appraisers applying for renewal of a license shall average at least 14 hours of
accredited continuing education per year; and

(3) Of the required hours, a minimum of 7 hours of USPAP consisting of the 7-hour
National USPAP Update Course must be completed every 2 years. Forlicenses-expiring

afterJanuary1-2004--aApplicants for renewal must provide documentation of
completion of the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course with each renewal
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(¢) In addition to (a) above, basic education requirements shall be as follows:

(1) Correspondence, video, CD ROM, online, or remote television courses taken for basic
education must consist of at least five lesson assignments of 3 hours each to be equivalent

to a 15 hour class.

(d) The Bureau may accept a state real estate appraiser license in good standing issued by
another state or territory of the United States as satisfactory evidence of fulfillment of the
minimum educational requirements of this part, provided that the state of issuance complies with

the minimum standards established by the AQB.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 11313, 11314, 11340 and 11361, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Public Law 101-73 (FIRREA); and Sections 11340 and 11360, Business and

Professions Code.
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BUREAU OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS

Hearing Date: June 7, 2016
Subject Matter of Proposed Regulations: Minimum Basic and Continuing Education
Section Affected: Amend Section 3543 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations

Updated Information

There was one comment to the proposed change. The Bureau accepted the comment and
modified the proposed language. The Bureau made three modifications to the proposed changes
which are as follows:

1. The Bureau proposes to add the word “national” in subdivision (a)(2)(B) to be
consistent with the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) as requested in the one public
comment. Currently, the Bureau does not differentiate between “regional” and “national”
accrediting agencies. Therefore, in practice there will be no change.

2. The Bureau proposes to add subdivisions (a)(3)(A)-(B) to spell out the AQB
requirements in the regulation instead of relying on subdivision (a)(1) which requires, but
does not explicitly state, the newly added subdivisions. This will allow applicants to
simply read the regulation without having to reference the AQB’s distance education
qualifications.

Bs The Bureau proposes to delete the petition process in subdivision (a)(4) because it
is unnecessary. All education credit must meet the minimum requirements contain in
section 3543. The Bureau does not have authority to grant exceptions to the minimum
requirements. (See Business and Professions Code section 11340.) As such, there is no
need to allow for a petition process if the minimum requirements are not satisfied.

Local Mandate

A mandate is not imposed on local agencies or school districts.

Small Business Impact

This action does not have a significant adverse economic impact on small businesses. No
alternatives were proposed to the Bureau that would lessen any adverse economic impact on
small business.

The benefit will be elimination of an unnecessary examination and conformity with the



Appraisal Qualification Board’s criteria.

Consideration of Alternatives

No reasonable alternative which was considered or that has otherwise been identified and
brought to the attention of the bureau would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for
which it was proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons
than the adopted regulation or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law.

Objections or Recommendations/Responses

The Bureau received one comment during the 45-day comment period from the Appraisal
Subcommittee. The Bureau accepted the comments which are mentioned above.

Documents Relied Upon

The Bureau added the Appraisal Qualification Board’s Real Property Appraiser Qualification
Criteria to support the non-substantive change to the file.



